The Hawkins Medical Clinic underwent its first Accreditation process with AGPAL in 1999. Our practice was the first SA country practice outside the Adelaide metropolitan area (8th in SA and the 68th nationally) to achieve unconditional accreditation.

Our thanks go to Dr Doug Brown who, as his retiring gift to the practice, drove the accreditation process to the successful conclusion achieved.


The clinic underwent its Re Accreditation visit in May 2002. Re accreditation was granted on 28th June 2002.

The survey visit had more detailed emphasis than on the first occasion however the surveyors were sufficiently pleased with the clinic, its staff and doctors to nominate us for the RACGP Practice of the Year Award.

Accreditation was undertaken in July 2005 and again in June 2008 by AGPAL.

Reaccreditation in 2011 saw a move to GPA with unconditional accreditation granted until June 2014 and again until June 2017.

In 2017 GPA changed their name to Quality Practice Accreditation (QPA). Again unconditional accreditation at our Sturt Street clinic was granted until June 2020. In 2018 our Pinehall clinic underwent its first accreditation process and was granted unconditional accreditation until 2021.

  • Australian College of Rural and Remote Medicine
  • The Royal Austrailian College of General Practitioners
  • Flinders University
  • Healthscope
  • GPEX
  • QPA